“to long for the endless immensity of the sea”

There’s an anchor for my soul
A mighty weight that holds me fast
Strong and steady against the swells
With shredded sails and splintered mast

Creaking, breaking, tearing, splitting
Havoc wreaked by storm-tossed seas
This rope and iron weigh me down
Yet waters stay beneath my feet

There’s an anchor for my soul
A mighty weight that holds me fast
Keeps me afloat although assailed
By flaming arrows and cannon’s blast

I’ve searched for harbors countless times
Sought refuge in the warmth of shallows
Lulled by sirens’ songs of safety:
Trade freedom for relief most hollow

Yet there’s an anchor for my soul
Almighty weight that holds me fast
By hope secure I am held
Free indeed on oceans vast

Leave a Reply

