The Ultimate Purpose of Revelation

IMG_1411

(Notes from Systematic Theology I with Dr. Jack Davis)

Revelation: the disclosure by a personal agent of otherwise unknown information (attitudes, emotions, thoughts, plans)

Revelation is both personal and propositional. The ultimate purpose of revelation is relationship.

I’ve been repeating these things to myself a lot lately, and not just because they were on the notes I was memorizing for my final last week.

I came to seminary to find sound answers to two foundational questions: Is God truly good? And if so, is he good enough?

See, I spent a good part of 2013 watching people I love ache, mourn, and cry out to God for deliverance. I saw pain plumb the depths of the human soul, and in those depths propositional knowledge – logical truths and facts about God – came up short. So did emotions from personal encounters with the Holy Spirit.

Is God good? Is he enough to satisfy the deepest longings of our hearts, to restore the most shattered spirit?

The ultimate purpose of revelation is relationship.

God wants to be known.

An eternal, holy, perfectly wise God is bound to have more to reveal than I could fully understand in a thousand lifetimes. His revelation is perfect and sufficient; my comprehension is not.

Still, with every new piece of revelation – propositional and personal – I am compelled to love him, trust him, and worship him more.

As I’ve grown (in the last four months, especially), my field of vision has widened, making my infinite God seem greater – more expansive and all-pervasive, yet somehow more set apart. And surprisingly, the more of his vast nature I come to know, the simpler my faith becomes. The better I know him, propositionally and personally, the more readily I trust him. I trust him because although my knowledge is not sufficient, he is. My experiences will not satisfy; he does.

Is God good? He is not just good; he is better than our best propositional definitions of goodness.

Is God good enough? The lion’s share of my experience tells me that he is, and that no one is likely to reach the limit of his “good enough-ness” anytime soon.

 

“Aslan,” said Anne, “you’re bigger”.
“That is because you are older, little one,” answered he.
“Not because you are?”
“I am not. But every year you grow, you will find me bigger.”

Prince Caspian (liberties taken)

Leave a Reply

